Embracing Change

Hi all! It’s been quite a while since I last posted something here in my blog, I guess giving the old “I was busy” line is too passe (but really, I was busy. LOL!) Anyways, I would just like to share with you guys about what I learned when I attended one of our Personal Empowerment Program training entitled “Embracing Change”.

Basically, there are 5 stages on how we usually cope up with major changes which will be shown in this short clip. Personally, I went through all these stages when I learned that I was pregnant with Julie, and I think most of the mommies I know underwent these stages as well. So without further ado, let’s watch this short, funny yet meaningful video about a giraffe stuck in a quicksand.

Let’s take the quick sand as our problem / change…

Stage 1: Denial
When we step into the quicksand, our initial reaction would be… “Nah, that’s not true.” or “Yeah right….”

Stage 2: Anger
When we finally realize that the change is real, we get angry for no apparent reason, blaming everyone we see, “It’s your fault!” “I hate you!” “I hate this life!” etc. etc. etc… Then some would take a box of cigars hoping to ease the tension.

Stage 3: Bargaining
Now, when we’ve eased up, we tend to ask for bargains… “God, I promise to be a good girl, just let me out of this quick sand…”

Stage 4: Depression
Okay, we were not given the chance and the bargaining didn’t seem to work, what do we do? Cry like there’s no tomorrow. Some of us won’t eat, some of us would drink, some of us just won’t talk to anyone and imprison themselves in their own room… (guilty!)

Stage 5: Acceptance
We’ve passed the depressing stage…We’ve recovered, we’ve become stronger and wiser. Off to face another challenge!

So, which stage are you now?


4 Replies to “Embracing Change”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *